IMMANUEL & ST. PAUL LUTHERAN CHURCHES

February 2024 Newsletter

Blue Earth, Minnesota

Receiving Forgiveness 🕂 Growing Disciples 🕂 Proclaiming Christ



The Lenten Midweek Series: Truly, This Is the Son of God

February 14-Ash Wednesday: Nicodemus; Doubted Then Believed, John 3:1-21;19:39

February 21: Judas Iscariot: Not the Messiah, but God's Son? Matthew 26:6-16; 27 3-10

February 28: Pilate God's Son, Found Innocent Matthew 27:<u>11-14, 24-26</u>

March 6: Simon of Cyrene: The Cross Now Carried, Matthew 27:32; Mark 15:21

March 13: The Thief: Rejected, Then Believed, Matthew 27:38-44; Luke 23: 32-43

March 20: The Centurion: Truly the Son of God, Matthew 27:51-54

Pr. Dave Fretham

Saturday: Pastor David Schultz Cell: 507.848.0816 Email: lcmspastorschultz@hotmail.com

Sunday: Vacancy Pastor David Fretham Cell: 612-859-8550 Email: dfretham@gmail.com

Release Time Coordinator: Sarah Smith Email: stpaulyouth@bevcomm.net Church Office: 507-526-7318

Church email: stpauloffice@bevcomm.net

Website www.stpaulblueearth.weebly.com





February 14, 2024 Ash Wednesday

Communion Worship Services at Noon & 6:00pm The Elders will serve a Lenten Supper at 5pm.

Lenten Worship Services will be held at Noon & 6:00pm on February 21 & 28, March 6, 13 (at Immanuel), and 20.



At 5:00 p.m. Lenten Suppers will be served in the Dining Room.

Broadcasts of the Ash Wednesday and Lenten Services will be on KBEW 1560AM & 95.3FM on Thursdays, February 15, 22 & 29, March 6, 13, 20, at 3:10 p.m.

Worship Services

St. Paul: Saturday Evenings at 5:30pm Sunday's at 9:30am Immanuel: Sunday's at 8:00am *Broadcast Schedule:* KBEW 1560AM at 11 a.m. on Sundays Cable Channel 990 at 9am & 6pm on Wednesdays

Page 2

Newly elected/re-elected at the St. Paul January 21st voters' meeting include:

President – Ryan Gustafson

Vice President – Jeff Bell

Secretary – Mary Gustafson

Treasurer – Gary Winkelman

Financial Secretary – Jane Bell

Assistant Financial Secretary –

St. Luke's Representative – Janet Zabel

Head Ushers – Brad Zierke

Todd Sukalski

Elders – Orlin Palm

Steve Lawrence

Trustee – Greg Mastin

Youth/Education – Angela Lawrence Mary Gustafson Andrew & Nicole Bell

Audit Committee -Evangelism Board -

Stewardship Board - Loren Eckhardt



Saturday, February 3rd Nolan Hagedorn & Toby Vereide

Sunday, February 4th Noah Burgett & Brantley Jagerson

Saturday, February 10th Jack Haase & Jackson Ruby

Sunday, February 11th Kailey Boettcher & Eliseanna Granillo

Saturday, February 17th Jack Haase & Samantha Nelson

Sunday, February 18th Leila Woodwick & Oliver Gustafson

Saturday, February 24th Nolan Hagedorn

Sunday, February 25th Madie Redepenning & Olivia Ziegler

St. Paul **MEETINGS** in February

Thursday, February 15: 7:00 pm Elders

Tuesday, February 27: 1:30pm LWSP

Immanuel **MEETINGS** in February

Wednesday, February 7: 7:00 pm Council meeting

Sunday, February 11: Annual Meeting following worship



The Altar Guild is looking for help for the months of April, June and August. Please contact Janet Zabel at 526.5886; cell 525.3196 or the office at 526.7318 or email stpauloffice@bevcomm.net



KBEW Broadcast sponsors are needed for the following dates:

Sundays: February 11 & 25

Ash Wednesday, February 14

Lenten Services: February 22 & 28, March 6, 13, 20

Easter Sunday: March 31

Please call the office, 526.7318, if you are interested in sponsoring a broadcast. The cost is \$42.



& ANNIVERSARIES

February 3- Joanne & Allan Sukalski February 15 - Neal & Brenda Mensing Norm & Michelle Hall February 17 - Damian & Tina Prescher February 23 - Dusty & Norma Martin



Thank you to following volunteers:

Meals-on-Wheels Program Sandy Classon, Evie Kabe, Marilyn Krieger, Larry & Bea Wolf, Alan & Sharon Krieger, Dean & Loree Vereide, John & Dianne Gieser, and Marilyn Krieger, coordinator.

Altar Guild & Martha Guild (funeral lunch coordinators) Thank you to all the past and present volunteers and coordinators.

We appreciate all you do!



If you would like to receive your St. Paul & Immanuel newsletter by email, please send an email to stpauloffice@bevcomm.net

If you would like a copy of the St. Paul Annual Report, they can be found on the rack outside the secretary's office.

- 2nd Bodey Bell
- 4th Dianne Gieser, Royce Valvick & Jason Mertens
- 5th Duane Ehrich & Dorothy Ristau
- 6th Neal Mensing & Roberta Rippentrop
- $7^{\rm th}$ Esther Voges & Margie Elmore
- 8th Lillian Hartwick, Andrea Schewe & Robin Mathews
- 9th Daniel Mensing
- 10th Jane Bell
- ${\rm 11^{th}}$ Marcia Swanson & Laurie Jagerson
- 12th Sandra Woodwick
- 13th DeEtta Klatt
- 15th Scott Haase, Karen Thompson & Emma Lawrence
- 16th Maura Prescher
- 17th Oliver Gustafson & Leo Wenkheimer
- 19th Madison Haugh & Joni Klinder
- 20th Daniel Eckhardt
- 21st Alex Wenkheimer
- 22nd Paul Smith
- 23rd Norm Hall
- 24th Colton Hearn & Jolene Krieger
- 28th Brad Wolf

• Listed are birthdays and wedding anniversaries of church members. If there are any additions or corrections, please call the office at 526.7318 or email stpauloffice@bevcomm.net



Giving through our Vanco Mobile Faith app is an easy and convenient way to donate to our church. It only takes a moment to set up an account:

- 1. Download the free Vanco Mobile app from the Apple App Store or Google Play Store
- 2. Find our church by ZIP code 56013 or by searching for St. Paul Lutheran.
- 3. Donate to the Fund of your choice!

ST PAUL LUTHERAN CHURCH 305 E 5th Street - P.O. Box 423 Blue Earth, MN. 56013 507-526-7318

1/21/2024 - 1/19/2025

DURING THE PASTORATE OF IINTERIUM PASTOR FRETHAM

from2024to2025currentDuring this time the following were the duly elected officers of the congregation and its organizations -
or rendered special service in an official or unofficial capacity.

		OFFICE OR				
NAME		CAPACITY	TERM BEGAN	TERM ENDS	Held Office/Remarks	
Ryan Gustafson	526-2685	Chairman	2024	2025	2022-	
Jeff Bell	525-2351	Vice-chairman	2024	2025	2023-	
Mary Gustafson	526-2585	Secretary	2024	2025	2023-	
Gary Winkelman	525-2651	Treasurer	2024	2025	2019-	
Jane Bell	525-3358	Financial Sec.	2024	2025	2019-	
						Took Office
Dean Vereide	525-1481	Elder	2022	2025	2nd Term	2019
Duane Ehrich	525-2270	Elder	2022	2025	1st Term	2022
Garrett Asmus	641-590-5101	Elder	2023	2026	1st Term	2023
Scott Adams	525-0292	Elder	2023	2025	1st Term	2 yr term2023
Orlin Palm	507-550-2436	Elder	2024	2027	2nd Term	2023
Steve Lawrence	525-0109	Elder	2024	2027	2nd Term	2021
A avan Event	F2F 1940	Tructoo	2022	2025		2010
Aaron Frank	525-1840	Trustee	2022	2025	2nd Term	2019
John Gieser	525-8418	Trustee	2023	2026	1st Term	2023
Greg Mastin	525-0194	Trustee	2024	2027	1st Term	2024
Kirsten Lorenz	525-0122	Bd of Youth Ed.	2022	2025	2nd Term	2018
Dawn Rademaker	525-4263	Bd of Youth Ed.	2023	2026	1st Term	2023
Mary Gustafson	526-2585	Bd of Youth Ed.	2023	2026	1st Term	2023
Angela Lawrence	525-1663	Bd of Youth Ed.	2024	2027	2nd Term	2021
Andrew & Nicole Bell	525-2927	Bd of Youth Ed.	2024	2027	1st Term	2024
Loren Eckhardt	525-4161	Stewardship Bd.	2024	2025	2nd Term	2021
		Evangelism Bd				
		Audit. Comm.				
Brad Zierke	525-2310	Head Usher	2024	2025	2014-	
Todd Sukalski	236-9413	Head Usher	2024	2025	2023-	
Janet Zabel	525-5886	St. Luke's Rep	2024	2025	2nd year	2023